Fellowship Outcomes Since 2011

Grant Success

Since 2011, our fellows have been awarded:

Individual Fellowship Grants including:

17 NIH F32 Awards

14 ASN Foundation Awards

5 AKF Clinical Scientist in Nephrology Awards

7 Other foundation or industry awards



Career Development Awards including:

7 NIH K08 Awards

15 NIH K23 Awards

8 AHA Awards

6 Foundation or other awards

Alumni Map

Destinations for alumni entering classes 2006-present

View map in new window

Distinguished Alumni

Current Nephrology Division Chiefs

Name Institution
Joseph Bonventre Brigham and Women’s Hospital
David Charytan New York University
Chi-Yuan Hsu UCSF
Orlando Gutierrez University of Alabama at Birmingham
Ben Humphreys Washington University in St Louis
Phillip Marsden University of Toronto
Martin Pollak Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Eugene Rhee Massachusetts General Hospital
Manikkam Suthanthiran NYP-Cornell
Sushrut Waikar Boston Medical Center
Matthew Weir University of Maryland
Wolfgang Winkelmayer Baylor
Myles Wolf Duke
Alan Yu University of Kansas

Presidents of the American Society of Nephrology, American Society of Transplantation, and National Kidney Foundation

Name Foundation, Years
Holly Kramer NKF, 2018-2020
Anil Chandraker AST, 2016-2017
Raymond Harris ASN, 2015-2016
Jonathan Himmelfarb ASN, 2014-2015
Joseph Bonventre ASN, 2010-2011
Sharon Anderson ASN, 2009-2010
Barbara Murphy AST, 2008-2009
Laurence Turka AST, 2001-2002
Mohamed Sayegh AST, 2000-2001
John Neylan AST, 1998-1999
Manikkam Suthanthiran AST, 1993-1994
Richard Glassock NKF, 1986-1988;  ASN, 1983-1984
Terry Strom AST, 1982-1983

Academic Leadership

Name Position Institution
Sharon Anderson Dean, School of Medicine Oregon Health and Science University
Barbara Ballermann Chair, Medicine University of Alberta
Hugh Brady President (2004-2013) University College Dublin
Lance Dworkin Chair, Medicine University of Toledo
Robert Goldszer Chief Medical Officer Mount Sinai Medical Center (FL), Florida International University
Anna Greka Director, Kidney Disease Initiative Broad Institute
Jonathan Himmelfarb Director, Kidney Research Institute University of Washington
Theodore (Ted) Post Editor-in-Chief Up-to-Date
Jochen Reiser Chair, Medicine Rush Medical College
Mohamed Sayegh Dean, Faculty of Medicine American University of Beirut
Karl Skorecki Dean, Faculty of Medicine Bar-Ilan University
Ravi Thadhani Chief Academic Officer Mass General Brigham
Marcello Tonelli Vice President, Research University of Calgary
Mark Zeidel Chair, Medicine Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Industry Leadership

Name Position Company/Organization
Lou Brenner Chief Operating Officer Allena Pharmaceuticals
Gary Curhan Chief Medical Officer OM1
Nwamaka Eneanya Head of Strategy and Operations Global Medical Office at Fresenius Medical Care
Raymond Hakim Chief Medical Officer Monogram Health
Mark Kaplan Vice President, Medical Affairs DaVita Kidney Care
Reshma Kewalramani President and CEO Vertex Pharmaceuticals
Michael Lazarus Chief Medical Officer, 1996-2009 Fresenius
John Neylan Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer Angion Biomedica
Krishna Polu Chief Medical Officer Raptor Pharmaceuticals
Eleanor Ramos Chief Medical Officer and Chief Operating Officer Provention Bio
Laurence Turka Chief Scientific Officer Rubius Therapeutics